What We're Doing

International Freedom Conductor Award

Before the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center had opened its doors, we began recognizing outstanding individuals for their work to fight for freedom. The International Freedom Conductor Award (IFCA) was created by the NURFC to recognize the contributions of contemporary individuals who, by their actions and personal examples, reflect the spirit and courageous actions of conductors on the historic Underground Railroad.

2013 IFCA Winners

On March 2, 2013, the Freedom Center honored civil rights activist Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth (posthumously) and New York Times columnist/activist Nicholas Kristof. Together, they represent a continuum of leaders who fight for the human dignity and human rights of all people.

Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth

Nicholas Kristof

Past IFCA Winners

Rosa Parks (1998), Archbishop Desmond Tutu (2000), Dr. Dorothy Height and the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Center for Human Rights (2003), US Presidents George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton, and His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama (2010), Nicholas Kristof and Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth* (2013)